Investment Advice

I would like to tell you about an amazing investment opportunity I have recently bought into.  You can expect a tremendous ROI year after year with minimal maintenance and no fees. With next to no time, money or knowledge, your returns are guaranteed to be equivalently valued as a hill of beans (or, a mound of beans, depending on your initial investment).


Saturday afternoon I put a handful of these in the dirt. The seeds were a gift (thank you Debra, if you ever read this). The raised bed boxes and dirt to (sorta, kinda, but not really) fill the boxes may have cost a hundred dollars. It’s been a couple three years since I built them. It took about 5 minutes to shell, plant and water the seeds. I have spent about three minutes each day since then watering them. That’s it. That is the total of my investment. You don’t need to do anything near that to benefit from this investing scheme. All you really need is a little bit of dirt in a fairly sunny location.

As of this morning, Wednesday, I have well over a dozen little bean plants that have pushed their way above ground with a few more expected. I’ll invest a little more time and a little more water into planting some under our apricot trees. The beans will put nitrogen in the soil for the trees and the trees will provide something for the beans to climb.

I fully expect this investment to provide me with the aforementioned hill of beans. Most will be frozen to last the year. Many will be shared with friends and neighbors. Some will be used as seed for next year. And a fair number of them may not last a day after leaving their vines.

This is true investing. I invest my time and resources into something that produces a real product. I will most probably be growing and eating these beans for the rest of my life. 

I’m (im)patiently waiting for my kale seeds to germinate and sprout. We’ll see how that particular investment pays off.

People invest their time and effort into such things as stocks and bonds, politics and institutions. The track record of these investments may look good on paper; but in reality they produce nothing real, 1s and 0s on a hard drive or words on paper.

Invest in something real. Put a seed in the dirt. Grow a garden.

Leave a Reply

